Upcoming Events

Official Ticketing: Book your tickets now   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 2024: Relive the 2024 edition   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique 2024: A great vintage year

Official Ticketing: Book your tickets now   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 2024: Relive the 2024 edition   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique 2024: A great vintage year

Menu

SS12: Ogier back in the game

Sébastien Ogier, the defending champion, clawed back a handful of seconds from Thierry Neuville early on Saturday afternoon by setting the fastest time on SS12, the second pass between Esparron and Oze (18.79km). The suspense remains intact at the top of the 92nd Monte-Carlo Rally, with the Toyota driver only 2.2 seconds behind the Hyundai driver.

The margin is tiny, insane, barely believable: one hundredth of a second per kilometre, if you divide 2.2 seconds by the 220 km covered since the start on Thursday evening in the Alpes de Haute-Provence. That’s the gap between Neuville and Ogier, with around a hundred kilometres left until the grand finale on Sunday in Col de Turini. The battle is total, intense, between two drivers at the top of their game who have, so far, avoided all the traps of this 2024 edition.

Behind Neuville and Ogier, their rivals are falling behind, one by one. First there was Tänak, who crashed out on SS3 and has been doing his best since Friday morning to climb back on the podium. The most recent setback was that of Elfyn Evans, who led from Thursday evening until Saturday morning, but who is now unable to set a single fastest time.

Munster stuck in a barrier

“It did not feel so great, but that’s a bit chronic (this week),” said the Welshman at the end of SS12, at siesta time. He didn’t even mention the hybrid system that had abandoned him for a few minutes this morning. The reigning world vice-champion is now a privileged observer of this battle of the chiefs, 16.5 seconds behind the Belgian and 14.3 seconds behind the 8-time World Champion, in a Toyota Yaris strictly identical to his own.

The main incident of SS12 involved Grégoire Munster, who had been very clean and efficient up to that point in his M-Sport Ford Puma, on his first Rally1 event, in the top category (his 24th rally in WRC conditions). The Belgian (with a Luxembourg licence) made a small error at km 6.3 and his Puma got stuck in a wooden safety barrier on the edge of a ravine. The co-driver then went to the side of the road, upstream of the bend, to warn other competitors who slowed down at this point, all losing a handful of seconds. The stage was not neutralised.

Classification SS12

Restaurant « Le Club »
Official ticketing
Official store
Virtual tour
Subscribe to ACM news
Follow us

Événements à venir :

Grand Prix de Monaco Historique 2024 : Présentation   –   Billetterie Officielle : Réservez vos billets dès maintenant

Grand Prix de Monaco Historique 2024 : Présentation   –   Billetterie Officielle : Réservez vos billets dès maintenant

Menu

ES12 : Ogier revient dans le match

Sébastien Ogier, le tenant du titre, a repris une poignée de secondes à Thierry Neuville samedi, en début d’après-midi, en signant le meilleur temps de l’ES12, lors du deuxième passage entre Esparron et Oze (18,79 km). Le suspense reste entier en tête du 92e Rallye Monte-Carlo, puisque le pilote Toyota revient à 2.2 secondes du pilote Hyundai.

La marge est infime, démente, à peine croyable : un centième de seconde au kilomètre, si l’on divise 2.2 secondes par 220 km parcourus depuis le départ, jeudi soir dans les Alpes de Haute-Provence. C’est l’écart entre Neuville et Ogier à une centaine de km de l’arrivée, dimanche du côté du col de Turini. La bagarre est totale, intense, entre deux pilotes au sommet de leur art qui ont déjoué, jusqu’à maintenant, tous les pièges de cette édition 2024.

Derrière Neuville et Ogier, les autres décrochent, les uns après les autres. Il y a d’abord eu Tänak, parti à la faute dans l’ES3 et qui, depuis vendredi matin, tente comme il peut de remonter vers le podium. Dernier décrochage en date, celui d’Elfyn Evans, leader de jeudi soir à samedi matin, mais qui n’arrive plus à signer le moindre temps scratch.

Munster coincé dans une barrière

“Je n’ai pas de bonnes sensations, c’est une constante (cette semaine)”, a confié le Gallois au point stop de l’ES12, à l’heure de la sieste. Il n’a même plus invoqué le système hybride qui l’avait abandonné pendant quelques minutes ce matin. Le vice-champion du monde en titre est devenu l’observateur privilégié de ce combat des chefs, à 16.5 secondes du Belge, à 14.3 secondes du pigiste gapençais, dans une Toyota Yaris strictement identique à la sienne.

Le principal incident de cette ES12 a concerné Grégoire Munster, jusque là très propre et efficace dans sa Ford Puma de M-Sport, pour son premier rallye dans la catégorie-reine (le 24e dans le cadre d’une manche WRC). Le Belge (à licence luxembourgeoise) a fait un petit écart au km 6.3 et sa Puma est restée coincée dans une barrière de sécurité en bois, au bord d’un ravin. Le copilote s’est alors placé en bord de route, en amont du virage, pour avertir les autres concurrents qui ont ralenti à cet endroit-là, perdant tous une poignée de secondes. La spéciale n’a pas été neutralisée.

Classement ES12

Restaurant « Le Club »
La Billetterie
La Boutique Officielle
Visites Virtuelles
Inscription aux actualités de L’ACM
Suivez-nous