Upcoming Events

Official Ticketing: Book your tickets now   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 2024: Relive the 2024 edition   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique 2024: A great vintage year

Official Ticketing: Book your tickets now   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 2024: Relive the 2024 edition   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique 2024: A great vintage year

Menu

SS8: Ogier rejoins Neuville and closes the gap on Evans

It was quite a day of rallying, which ended in a draw between two of the WRC’s greatest players : three fastest times for Thierry Neuville (SS3, SS6, SS7), three also for Sébastien Ogier (SS4, SS5, SS8) in this 92ndRally Monte-Carlo where the Frenchman is the title holder… with absolutely no guarantee of retaining it on Sunday.

“We did our job. We came back well (in the overall standings). It was a good day,” soberly summed up Ogier at the pitstop on SS8, which was run entirely at night and in which he put his foot down to finish the day on a high. The Frenchman from the Hautes-Alpes, eight-time world champion and nine-time winner in Monte-Carlo, is now just 4.5 seconds behind his Toyota team-mate Elfyn Evans, who was dominant on Thursday evening but much more cautious on Friday (no best time all day).

“This rally is never easy. And it’s very difficult at night. I had a lot of information, but I couldn’t manage everything at once. I had to trust the notes. It was very difficult to assess the road conditions. I’m happy to have got to the end of the day without a single problem,” said the Welshman.

His lead over Neuville was 15 seconds on Friday morning when he left Gap. On Saturday morning, it will be just 4.5 seconds over another big WRC customer: the formidable Seb Ogier, who is not aiming for the world title this year. That’s something to think about before taking any unnecessary risk…

Neuville steps up the pace

The other contender for the 2024 world title is bound to be a Hyundai driver. And after eight out of 17 stages in this first round of the season, Neuville has taken the upper hand, for the time being, over his team-mate Tänak: “I’m happy to be here. It wasn’t a good morning, but we had a much better afternoon. We need to stay focused and do a better job tomorrow. We’ve made a few changes to the set-up. It went well on the first two stages [of the day]. Here, the conditions are tricky, so it’s not easy to stay focused, but we’re here”, Neuville reckoned before heading back to Gap.

His Estonian team-mate, who was driving for M-Sport Ford in 2023, needs to regain confidence in the Hyundai. That is definitely happening, slowly but surely. “We managed to finish [the stage]. It was really scary and we didn’t have a good pace, but we’ll see…”, said Tänak, the 2019 world champion, at the end of a nerve-wracking day.

The final word on Friday’s rally goes to Ogier, the local hero, who delighted the many fans lining the roads of his native region with his immaculate driving style: “It was a lot more slippery than this morning, with a lot of mud. We had a difficult start to the rally, but we expected that with our starting position. Now, I’m happy that we’ve managed to get closer [to the lead]. Tomorrow should be fun”.

Saturday: 120 km on the menu

On Saturday’s menu, there are six more tricky stages, spread over two loops of three stages, totalling 120km of timed sections. Given the current very narrow gaps between the contenders for victory, both in Rally1 (three drivers within 16 seconds of each other) and in WRC2 (three drivers within five seconds), it’s reasonable to expect that Day 3 of this rally will be very lively. If not completely wild.

Classification SS8

Restaurant « Le Club »
Official ticketing
Official store
Virtual tour
Subscribe to ACM news
Follow us

Événements à venir :

Billetterie Officielle : Soyez informés de l’ouverture des ventes 2025       –       Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco 2024 : Revivez cette 81e édition

Billetterie Officielle : Soyez informés de l’ouverture des ventes 2025       –       Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco 2024 : Revivez cette 81e édition

Menu

ES8 : Ogier rejoint Neuville et se rapproche d’Evans

C’était une sacrée journée de rallye, conclue par un match nul entre deux grands animateurs du WRC : trois temps scratch pour Thierry Neuville (ES3, ES6, ES7), trois aussi pour Sébastien Ogier (ES4, ES5, ES8) dans ce 92e Rallye Monte-Carlo où le Français est tenant du titre… sans aucune garantie de le conserver dimanche.

“On a fait le job. On est bien revenu (au classement général). C’était une bonne journée”, a sobrement résumé Ogier au point stop de l’ES8, disputée intégralement de nuit, dans laquelle il a mis un gros coup d’accélérateur, histoire de finir la journée en beauté. Le Français des Hautes-Alpes, huit fois champion du monde et neuf fois victorieux en Principauté, n’est plus qu’à 4.5 secondes de son coéquipier chez Toyota, Elfyn Evans, dominateur jeudi soir mais nettement plus prudent vendredi (aucun temps scratch).

“Ce rallye n’est jamais simple. Et il est très difficile de nuit. J’avais beaucoup d’informations, mais je ne pouvais pas tout gérer en même temps. Je devais faire confiance aux notes. C’était très difficile d’évaluer les conditions de route. Je suis heureux d’être arrivé au bout de la journée sans un seul problème”, a confié le Gallois.

Son avance sur Neuville était de 15 secondes vendredi matin, en quittant Gap. Elle ne sera plus que de 4.5 secondes samedi matin, sur un autre gros client du WRC : le redoutable Seb Ogier, qui ne vise pas le titre mondial cette année. De quoi réfléchir avant de prendre des risques éventuels…

Neuville hausse le rythme

L’autre candidat au titre mondial 2024 sera forcément un pilote Hyundai. Et après huit spéciales sur 17, dans cette première manche de la saison, c’est Neuville qui a pris l’ascendant, pour le moment, sur son coéquipier Tänak : “Je suis heureux d’être là. Ce n’était pas une bonne matinée, mais on a eu une bien meilleure après-midi. Nous devons rester concentrés et faire un meilleur travail demain. Nous avons fait un peu évoluer les réglages. Ça s’est bien passé sur les deux premières spéciales [du jour]. Ici, les conditions sont piégeuses, ce n’est pas facile de rester concentré, mais on est là”, a dit le Belge avant de repartir vers Gap.

Son coéquipier estonien, qui roulait chez M-Sport Ford en 2023, a besoin de reprendre confiance dans la Hyundai. C’est en train de venir, lentement mais sûrement. “Nous avons réussi à finir [la spéciale]. Ça faisait vraiment peur et nous n’avions pas un bon rythme, mais on verra bien…”, a dit Tänak, champion du monde 2019, au terme de cette journée très éprouvante pour les nerfs.

Le mot de la fin, en ce vendredi, est forcément pour Ogier, le héros local, qui a ravi par son pilotage les nombreux fans impeccablement alignés le long des routes de sa région natale : “C’était bien plus glissant que ce matin, avec beaucoup de boue. Nous avons eu un début de rallye difficile, mais nous nous y attendions avec notre position de départ. Maintenant, je suis content que l’on ait réussi à se rapprocher [de la tête]. Demain devrait être amusant.” 

120 km chronométrés samedi

Au menu de samedi, six autres spéciales pas évidentes, réparties sur deux boucles de trois spéciales pour 120 km chronométrés, au total. Vu les écarts actuels, très faibles, entre les prétendants à la victoire, autant en Rally1 (trois pilotes en 16 secondes) qu’en WRC2 (trois pilotes en cinq secondes), on peut raisonnablement prévoir que cette 3e journée de course va être très animée. Voire même complètement délirante.

Classement ES 8

Restaurant « Le Club »
La Billetterie
La Boutique Officielle
Visites Virtuelles
Inscription aux actualités de L’ACM
Suivez-nous