Upcoming Events

Official Ticketing: Stay tuned for the 2025 Opening Sales       –       Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco 2024 : Relive this 81st edition

Official Ticketing: Stay tuned for the 2025 Opening Sales       –       Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco 2024 : Relive this 81st edition

Menu
81st Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco
23 - 26 May 2024
Useful infos
Archives

F1, EL2: Leclerc reassures the tifosi

The tifosi can rest assured that they will sleep well tonight. The 2nd free practice session of the 81st Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco saw Charles Leclerc, fastest in his Ferrari, do better than three world champions: Lewis Hamilton, fastest in the 1st session, Fernando Alonso and Max Verstappen. That’s 12 world championship titles altogether!

Saturday’s qualifying session promises to be sumptuous. The top four drivers in this 2nd session, all grouped within half a second, still have their work cut out. They didn’t spend the whole session on soft tyres in order to set the best possible time, and they ended the session preparing for the race on medium or hard tyres. And one thing is certain: the suspense is going to be total on Saturday at 17:00.

With a time of 1:11.278, the Monegasque, who has never yet stood on the princely podium in his native country, did better than Max Verstappen last year in qualifying (1:11.365), when he took a sensational pole position by taking all the risks, and converted it into his second win in Monaco the following day. 

That was the main lesson to be learned from Friday’s race: the Ferraris are ready, efficient and fast, and Charles can aim for pole on Saturday, but he’s not the only one. Lewis Hamilton, seven-time world champion and three-time winner in Monaco, showed once again, after his best time early in the afternoon in the 1st session, that he really is a force to be reckoned with this weekend.

Sir Lewis took 2nd place in this 2nd session, less than 2 tenths behind Leclerc, driving slightly faster than Alonso and Verstappen. The Mercedes is much more efficient on the streets of Monaco than on the very fast circuits at the start of the season, where it was unable to keep up with the infernal pace of the Red Bulls, McLarens and Ferraris. And McLaren remains in the hunt, thanks also to the talent of its young drivers Lando Norris and Oscar Piastri. They are both dreaming of springing a surprise on Sunday. Or perhaps in qualifying on Saturday? Wait and see…

Restaurant « Le Club »
Official ticketing
Official store
Virtual tour
Subscribe to ACM news
Follow us

Événements à venir :

Billetterie Officielle : Soyez informés de l’ouverture des ventes 2025       –       Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco 2024 : Revivez cette 81e édition

Billetterie Officielle : Soyez informés de l’ouverture des ventes 2025       –       Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco 2024 : Revivez cette 81e édition

Menu

F1, EL2 : Leclerc rassure les tifosi

Les tifosi sont rassurés, ils vont bien dormir ce soir. La 2e séance d’essais libres du 81e Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco a permis à Charles Leclerc, meilleur temps dans sa Ferrari, de devancer trois champions du monde : dans l’ordre Lewis Hamilton, meilleur chrono de la 1ère séance, Fernando Alonso et Max Verstappen, soit 12 titres à eux trois !

Les qualifications de samedi s’annoncent somptueuses. Les quatre premiers pilotes de cette 2e séance, regroupés en une demi-seconde, en ont encore gardé sous le pied. Ils n’ont pas passé toute la séance en pneus tendres, pour faire le meilleur chrono possible, et ils l’ont terminée en préparant la course, avec des pneus medium ou durs. Et une chose est sûre : le suspense va être total, samedi à partir de 17h00.

Avec un chrono de 1:11.278, le Monégasque, qui n’est encore jamais monté sur le podium princier de son pays natal, a fait mieux que Max Verstappen l’an dernier, en qualifications (1:11.365), pour rafler à l’époque une pole position sensationnelle en prenant tous les risques, et la convertir le lendemain en deuxième victoire à Monaco.

C’est le principal enseignement de cette journée de vendredi : les Ferrari sont au point, efficaces, rapides, et Charles peut viser la pole samedi, mais il n’est pas le seul. Lewis Hamilton, septuple champion du monde et triple vainqueur à Monaco, a encore montré, après son meilleur temps en début d’après-midi, dans la 1ère séance, qu’il fallait vraiment compter avec lui ce week-end.

Sir Lewis a pris la 2e place de cette 2e séance, à moins de 2 dixièmes de Leclerc, en roulant un peu plus vite qu’Alonso et Verstappen. La Mercedes est bien plus efficace, dans les rues de Monaco, que sur les circuits très rapides du début de saison où elle n’arrivait pas à suivre le rythme infernal des Red Bull, McLaren et autres Ferrari. Et McLaren reste dans le coup, grâce aussi au talent de ses jeunes pilotes Lando Norris et Oscar Piastri, qui rêvent de créer la surprise dimanche. Ou peut-être samedi, déjà, en qualifications ? Wait and see…

Classement Séance d’essais libres 2

Restaurant « Le Club »
La Billetterie
La Boutique Officielle
Visites Virtuelles
Inscription aux actualités de L’ACM
Suivez-nous