Upcoming Events

Official Ticketing: Stay tuned for the 2025 Opening Sales       –       Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco 2024 : Relive this 81st edition

Official Ticketing: Stay tuned for the 2025 Opening Sales       –       Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco 2024 : Relive this 81st edition

Menu
81st Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco
23 - 26 May 2024
Useful infos
Archives

Leclerc at last, without a doubt…

In the end, it was an 81st Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco with no surprise, apart from the first lap, and no suspense until the 78th lap, everything having been settled in advance. It all came down to tea time on Saturday, when qualifying was of a very high standard. And 24 hours later, Charles Leclerc was able to climb onto the top of the princely podium that he had dreamed of since he was a child. He will forever be the first Monegasque to win a Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco, and he deserves it.

On the podium, with the princely family surrounding him, Charles the Victorious was accompanied by his new best friend, Oscar Piastri (McLaren), and his future ex-teammate at Ferrari, Carlos Sainz. Everyone was very moved, as was Frédéric Vasseur, the main architect of the Scuderia’s revival which nobody can doubt any more. Throughout the weekend, there was not a single mistake from the men in red, who had ruined, in the pits, Leclerc’s two previous pole positions in the Principality.

Charles Leclerc: “I never believed in a curse [in Monaco]”.

Even the crazy first lap of this 81st Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco didn’t faze or destabilise them, and they calmly put Sainz’s Ferrari back in shape at the end of the first lap, when a red flag brutally interrupted proceedings for three quarters of an hour. This was due to a collision with potentially dramatic consequences between the Red Bull of ‘Checo’ Pérez and the two Haas cars of Kevin Magnussen and Nico Hülkenberg, who had started from the back of the grid.

Sainz had a tyre punctured by a rival at the start, so he missed braking entering the Casino section. A few seconds later, on the descent to the Fairmont, Esteban Ocon flew off the front wheel of his Alpine team-mate Pierre Gasly. That was a lot of incidents for a first lap, there were carbon debris everywhere, so the race direction wisely decided to stop everything, giving time for everyone to recover.

A new start

When the race restarted for 16 of the 20 drivers at 3.45pm, some were on hard tyres (the first four) and others on medium tyres (in the chasing pack), nobody knowing which was the best solution. And then nothing happened, because Leclerc set the pace, very slowly, that was needed to preserve the tyres right to the end. And nobody behind the Ferrari, not even the McLaren drivers, tried to reverse the course of this inexorable victory, awaited by all the people of Monaco.

It was a logical and well-deserved victory, meticulously prepared by the entire Scuderia team, and there could be many more to come. It is only Charles Leclerc’s 6th win in F1, two years after his previous one (Austria 2022), but it brings the Monegasque back to 31 points of Max Verstappen. The three-time reigning world champion took 6th place in this uneventful race… after a first lap worthy of “Fast and Furious”. The race ended with the top ten on the grid in the top ten places overall.

There are still 16 Grands Prix to be contested in 2024 and anything is possible, including a duel between Verstappen and Leclerc for the world title. We cannot wait for the Canadian Grand Prix in Montreal in mid-June!

Race final classification

Restaurant « Le Club »
Official ticketing
Official store
Virtual tour
Subscribe to ACM news
Follow us

Événements à venir :

Billetterie Officielle : Soyez informés de l’ouverture des ventes 2025       –       Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco 2024 : Revivez cette 81e édition

Billetterie Officielle : Soyez informés de l’ouverture des ventes 2025       –       Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco 2024 : Revivez cette 81e édition

Menu

Leclerc enfin, sans aucun doute…

C’était finalement un 81e Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco sans surprise, sauf au 1ertour, et sans suspense, jusqu’au 78e tour, tout ayant été réglé à l’avance. Tout s’est donc joué samedi à l’heure du thé, lors de qualifications de très haut niveau. Et Charles Leclerc a pu monter, 24 heures plus tard, sur le podium princier dont il rêvait depuis tout petit. Il restera à jamais le premier Monégasque à remporter un Grand Prix de Monaco de Formule 1, et c’est amplement mérité.

Sur le podium, avec autour de lui la famille princière, Charles le Victorieux a été accompagné par son nouveau meilleur ami, Oscar Piastri (McLaren), et par son futur ex-coéquipier chez Ferrari, Carlos Sainz. Tout le monde était très ému et il y avait aussi Frédéric Vasseur, principal artisan de ce renouveau de la Scuderia dont plus personne ne peut douter. Pendant tout le week-end, il n’y a eu aucune erreur des hommes en rouge, alors qu’ils avaient gâché, dans le stand Ferrari, les deux précédentes pole positions de Leclerc en Principauté.

Charles Leclerc : “Je n’ai jamais pensé que j’étais maudit [à Monaco]”.

Même le premier tour délirant de ce 81e Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco ne les a pas déconcentrés, déstabilisés, et ils ont tranquillement remis en état la Ferrari de Sainz, à la fin du premier tour, quand un drapeau rouge a brutalement interrompu les débats, pendant trois quarts d’heure. La faute à un accrochage dont les conséquences auraient pu être dramatiques entre la Red Bull de « Checo » Pérez et les deux Haas de Kevin Magnussen et Nico Hülkenberg, parties en fond de grille.

Sainz avait un pneu crevé par un rival lors du départ, alors il est parti tout droit au freinage du Casino. Et quelques secondes plus tard, dans la descente vers le Fairmont, Esteban Ocon s’est envolé sur la roue avant de son coéquipier chez Alpine, Pierre Gasly. Cela faisait beaucoup d’incidents pour un premier tour, il y avait des débris de carbone partout, donc la direction de course a sagement décidé de tout arrêter, le temps que tout le monde reprenne ses esprits.

Nouveau départ

Quand la course est repartie pour 16 pilotes sur 20, à 15h45, certains étaient en pneus durs (les quatre premiers) et d’autres en pneus medium (dans le peloton de chasse), personne ne sachant quelle était la meilleure solution. Et il ne s’est plus rien passé, car Leclerc a donné le rythme, très lent, d’une course assez sage pour préserver les pneus jusqu’au bout. Et personne derrière la Ferrari, même pas les pilotes McLaren, n’a tenté d’inverser le cours de cette victoire inexorable, attendue par tout le peuple monégasque.

C’est une victoire logique, méritée, préparée minutieusement par toute l’équipe de la Scuderia, et elle en appelle d’autres. Ce n’est que la 6e victoire de Charles Leclerc en F1, deux ans après la précédente (Autriche 2022), mais elle permet au Monégasque de revenir à 31 points seulement de Max Verstappen. Le triple champion du monde en titre a pris la 6e place de cette course sans histoire… après un premier tour digne de « Fast and Furious ». Elle s’est conclue avec les dix premiers sur la grille aux dix premières places du classement général.

Il reste 16 Grands Prix à disputer en 2024 et tout est possible, y compris un duel entre Verstappen et Leclerc pour le titre mondial. Vivement le mois de juin à Montréal pour un Grand Prix du Canada qui s’annonce torride !

Classement de la course

Restaurant « Le Club »
La Billetterie
La Boutique Officielle
Visites Virtuelles
Inscription aux actualités de L’ACM
Suivez-nous