Upcoming Events

Rallye Monte-Carlo 2025 : Discover the Itinerary       –       E-Rallye Monte-Carlo 2024: Save the dates!       –       Official Ticketing: Stay tuned for the 2025 Opening Sales       –       Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco 2024 : Relive this 81st edition

Rallye Monte-Carlo 2025 : Discover the Itinerary       –       E-Rallye Monte-Carlo 2024: Save the dates!       –       Official Ticketing: Stay tuned for the 2025 Opening Sales       –       Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco 2024 : Relive this 81st edition

Menu

6th Monaco E-Prix: GEN3 guarantees to put on a show!

One year after their official presentation in Monaco, the new single-seaters of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship, named GEN3, will finally be on track this Saturday. More powerful, lighter and faster, they break records and ensure more overtaking in races. The show will therefore be intense on Saturday for this 6th visit of the most innovative category of modern motorsport. Not to mention a line-up of top drivers who will try to reach the Holy Grail: a prestigious win in the Principality.

Since the beginning of this Season 9, the GEN3s have been breaking records. We are already halfway through the season and the numbers are staggering. During the South African round in Cape Town, rookie Sacha Fenestraz (Nissan) achieved the highest average speed in the history of the discipline, at 154.987 km/h, to obtain his first pole position in his first full season. In Berlin last month, at the atypical Tempelhof Airport circuit, the record for the number of overtaking maneuvers in a single race was broken (190), as was the number of lead changes (20, over 43 laps) and the number of different leaders in the same race (8).

With this GEN3 “made for Monaco”, as can be seen on banners all around the circuit, Formula E is more animated, more disputed, more open, and therefore a greater number of drivers have a chance to win. The proof is in the pudding: six drivers have won in the first eight rounds of this Season 9, and many more can follow suit in Monaco. As for the quest for the world title, it will be fierce right up to the end, judging by the lengthy CVs of the candidates for the crown.

Wehrlein and Cassidy lead the championship

Pascal Wehrlein (TAG-Heuer Porsche) is leading the way, but Nick Cassidy (Envision Racing) is only four points behind. The Kiwi has just scored 68 points in four races, compared with 20 only for Wehrlein, who started the season on a high. And 20 other drivers are ready to take advantage of the Monegasque stage to score big points and move up the championship standings, starting with Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Penske), the only two-time champion in the category, who has already won in 2019 on the streets of the Principality.

On the list of winners of an electric single-seater race in Monaco, we also find Sebastien Buemi (Envision Racing), the only one to have won here twice. The Swiss driver has already won the FIA Formula E championship with Nissan and the World Endurance Championship with Toyota (three victories at the 24 Hours of Le Mans). He has been one of the major players of the category since its creation (16 pole positions) and has only one desire: to win again, for his new team.

Vandoorne wants to bounce back

On the grid at 3.03pm on Saturday, there will be five championship winners, starting with Stoffel Vandoorne (DS Penske). The Belgian, world title holder and Monaco resident, won the 2022 edition, but has not yet managed to climb on a podium in 2023. There will also be Antonio Felix da Costa (TAG-Heuer Porsche), crowned in 2020 and Monaco winner in 2021. Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Penske), Sebastien Buemi (Envision Racing) and Lucas di Grassi (Mahindra Racing) round out the list of champions.

Maserati and McLaren, 54 years later…

Among the many challenges of this 6th Monaco E-Prix, there is also the reunion at the highest level of Maserati and McLaren, two mythical brands of motorsport. The former Venturi team is back in Formula E under new colors, thanks to an already successful partnership with the Monaco Sports Group. The Maserati MSG driver duo is made up of Edoardo Mortara and Maximilian Günther, who just finished on the podium in Berlin.

On the McLaren side, the Woking-based team has put together a very promising tandem with Jake Hughes and René Rast. This Saturday, for the first time since the 1969 Monaco Grand Prix, McLaren and Maserati will be on the same starting grid in the Principality. And their reunion promises to make sparks fly.

Last but not least, two other drivers have to be watched closely this weekend: Mitch Evans and Sam Bird, in the fast-growing Jaguar TCSteam. Evans, the other Kiwi on the grid, has just won two of the last three races, making a spectacular recovery in the championship standings. To be continued?

6th Monaco E-Prix, 9th round of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship, Saturday at 15:03 CET

Your tickets: www.monaco-eprix.com

Restaurant « Le Club »
Official ticketing
Official store
Virtual tour
Subscribe to ACM news
Follow us

Événements à venir :

Billetterie Officielle : Réservez vos billets dès maintenant       –       Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco 2024 : Presentation

Billetterie Officielle : Réservez vos billets dès maintenant       –       Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco 2024 : Presentation

Menu

6e Monaco E-Prix : spectacle garanti par les GEN3 !

Un an tout juste après leur présentation officielle à Monaco, les nouvelles monoplaces du Championnat du Monde ABB FIA de Formule E, baptisées GEN3, seront enfin en piste ce samedi. Plus puissantes, plus légères et plus rapides, elles permettent de battre des records et assurent plus de dépassements en course. Le spectacle sera donc intense, samedi, pour cette 6e visite de la catégorie la plus innovante du sport automobile moderne dans les rues de Monaco. Sans compter une brochette de pilotes de très haut niveau qui vont tenter de toucher un Graal : une victoire en Principauté.

Depuis le début de cette Saison 9, les GEN3 n’en finissent plus de battre des records. Nous sommes déjà à mi-saison et les chiffres donnent le tournis. Lors de l’étape sud-africaine, au Cap, le débutant Sacha Fenestraz (Nissan) a réussi la moyenne la plus élevée de toute l’histoire de la discipline, sur un tour, à 154,987 km/h, pour obtenir sa première pole position, dès sa première saison complète. A Berlin le mois dernier, sur le circuit atypique de l’aéroport de Tempelhof, le record de dépassements dans une seule course a été pulvérisé (190), comme celui du nombre de changements de leader (20, sur 43 tours) et le nombre de leaders différents dans la même course (8).

Avec cette GEN3 « faite pour Monaco », comme on peut le voir sur des banderoles tout autour du circuit, la Formule E est plus animée, plus disputée, plus ouverte, et un plus grand nombre de pilotes ont donc une chance de s’imposer. La preuve, ils sont six à avoir cueilli les lauriers de la victoire lors des huit premières manches de cette Saison 9. Et beaucoup d’autres pilotes peuvent encore les imiter à Monaco. Quant à la quête du titre mondial, elle va être acharnée jusqu’au bout, à en juger par les CV à rallonge des candidats à la couronne.

Wehrlein et Cassidy en tête du championnat

Au rayon pilotes, justement, c’est Pascal Wehrlein (TAG-Heuer Porsche) qui mène la danse, mais Nick Cassidy (Envision Racing) n’est qu’à quatre points. Le Kiwi vient d’en marquer 68 en quatre courses, contre 20 seulement pour Wehrlein, qui avait entamé cette saison sur les chapeaux de roue. Et 20 autres pilotes sont prêts à profiter de l’étape monégasque pour marquer eux aussi des gros points et remonter au classement du championnat, à commencer par Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Penske), le seul double champion de la catégorie, déjà vainqueur en 2019 dans les rues de la Principauté.

Sur la liste des vainqueurs d’une course de monoplaces électriques à Monaco, on trouve aussi Sébastien Buemi (Envision Racing), le seul à s’être imposé deux fois ici. Le Suisse a déjà été champion FIA de Formule E, avec Nissan, et champion du monde d’endurance, avec Toyota (trois victoires aux 24 Heures du Mans). Il est l’un des principaux animateurs de la catégorie depuis sa création (16 pole positions) et n’a qu’une envie : gagner à nouveau, pour sa nouvelle écurie.

Vandoorne veut rebondir

Sur la grille de départ, samedi à 15h03, il y aura cinq vainqueurs du championnat, à commencer par Stoffel Vandoorne (DS Penske). Tenant du titre mondial et résident monégasque, le Belge, vainqueur de l’édition 2022, n’a pas encore réussi à monter sur un podium en 2023. Il y aura aussi Antonio Felix da Costa (TAG-Heuer Porsche), sacré en 2020 et vainqueur en 2021 à Monaco. Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Penske), Sébastien Buemi (Envision Racing) et Lucas di Grassi (Mahindra Racing) complètent cette liste de champions.

Maserati et McLaren, 54 ans plus tard…

Parmi les nombreux enjeux de ce 6e Monaco E-Prix, il y a aussi les retrouvailles au plus haut niveau de Maserati et McLaren, deux marques mythiques du sport automobile. L’ancienne équipe Venturi repart en Formule E sous de nouvelles couleurs, grâce à un partenariat déjà fructueux avec le Monaco Sports Group. Le duo de pilotes Maserati MSG est constitué d’Edoardo Mortara et Maximilian Günther, qui vient de monter sur le podium à Berlin.

Du côté de McLaren, l’écurie de Woking a constitué un tandem très prometteur avec Jake Hughes et René Rast. Ainsi, ce samedi, et pour la première fois depuis le Grand Prix de Monaco 1969, McLaren et Maserati seront sur la même grille de départ, en Principauté. Et leurs retrouvailles promettent de faire des étincelles.

Enfin, deux autres pilotes sont également à suivre de très près ce week-end : Mitch Evans et Sam Bird, au sein de l’écurie Jaguar TCS qui monte en régime. Evans, l’autre Kiwi du plateau, vient de remporter deux des trois dernières courses, effectuant une remontée spectaculaire au classement du championnat.

Départ du 6e Monaco E-Prix, 9e manche du Championnat du Monde ABB FIA de Formula E, samedi à 15h03 CET

Vos billets : www.monaco-eprix.com

Restaurant « Le Club »
La Billetterie
La Boutique Officielle
Visites Virtuelles
Inscription aux actualités de L’ACM
Suivez-nous