Upcoming Events

6th E-Rallye Monte-Carlo – from 26 to 30 october 2022 – Discover

6th E-Rallye Monte-Carlo – from 26 to 30 october 2022 – Discover

Menu
79e Grand Prix de Monaco F1
26 - 29 May 2022
Archieves
Partenaires

79th Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco: four aces and a new format!

It’s a battle royale that promises to take place in the streets of the Principality for the 79th edition of Monaco F1 Grand Prix, with four ace drivers spread in three top teams: Max Verstappen, the reigning world champion and new leader of the 2022 World Championship, at Red Bull Racing, Charles Leclerc, the local hero, in his Ferrari, Lewis Hamilton and George Russell for Mercedes.

One cannot expect any other driver to bother these top drivers who have accumulated 131 wins in F1, including 103 alone for the seven-time British world champion, 24 for the Flying Dutchman and 4 for the Monégasque. This 79th edition is more enticing than ever, between Sir Lewis and three spearheads of the new generation. Only Russell has never won in F1 but he has just finished in the Top 5 six times in a row this year, although he did not drive, by some length, the best single-seater on the grid.

To decide between the stars of modern F1, a little more eco-responsible and much less expensive for the teams, with a capped budget, a new format has been set up this year in Monaco: three days of F1, all inclusive, counting Friday morning for media duties and Friday afternoon for two free practice sessions, crucial to prepare for qualifying on Saturday afternoon.

It is indeed an extraordinary 79th Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco that is scheduled, in front of fully booked grandstands and VIP boxes, after two years of coronavirus, masks and sanitary constraints. It is also the beginning of a new era for Formula 1, in Monaco and elsewhere, around Verstappen, Leclerc and Russell, but also Lando Norris and Daniel Ricciardo in their McLarens, and two former world champions who could reconnect any time with their past glory, Fernando Alonso (Alpine) and Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin), thanks to their huge experience: 340 Grands Prix contested (32 wins) for the popular Spaniard, crowned in 2005 and 2006, 283 GPs (and 53 wins) for the German four-time world champion.

On the French side, Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri) and Esteban Ocon (Alpine) will again be on the lookout if an opportunity arises, as in Monza or Hungary during their one and only success in F1, to date. The first two wins for a French driver in F1 since Olivier Panis in 1996… in Monaco!

On Sunday, talent, strategy and a bit of luck, an essential ingredient in the Principality, will determine the name of the winner. It will be much the same recipe for the supporting races, with a particularly exciting menu: the future champions of Formula 2, the young wolves of the Formula Regional Europe by Alpine and the overpowered coupes of the Porsche Supercup, ready to delight, one more time, lovers of old-fashioned thrills.

In this new-format Monaco Grand Prix, support races will be the only stars on track on Thursday. With a handful of famous surnames for young drivers who want to make a name for themselves: Enzo Fittipaldi, Eduardo Barrichello, Sebastian Montoya, Jack Doohan, Liam Lawson, Marino Sato. One thing is certain, even if the format has changed, it will still be very hot on track, all along this very special weekend, in the streets of the Principality!

 

Restaurant « Le Club »
Official ticketing
Official store
Virtual tour
Subscribe to ACM news

Événements à venir :

6e E-Rallye Monte-Carlo – du 26 au 30 octobre 2022 – Découvrir l’épreuve

6e E-Rallye Monte-Carlo – du 26 au 30 octobre 2022 – Découvrir l’épreuve

Menu
79e Grand Prix de Monaco F1
26 - 29 mai 2022
Archives
Partenaires

79e Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco : nouveau format pour un carré d’as !

C’est une bataille royale qui s’annonce dans les rues de la Principauté pour la 79e édition du Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco, avec un carré d’as réparti dans trois écuries : Max Verstappen, champion du monde en titre et nouveau leader du classement 2022, chez Red Bull Racing, Charles Leclerc, le héros local, dans sa Ferrari, Lewis Hamilton et George Russell dans les Mercedes qui sont enfin redevenues des Flèches d’Argent.

On ne voit pas comment un autre pilote pourrait venir inquiéter ces caïds qui cumulent 131 victoires en F1, dont 103 à lui tout seul pour le septuple champion du monde britannique, 24 pour le Néerlandais et 4 pour le Monégasque. Et l’affiche est plus alléchante que jamais, entre Sir Lewis et les trois fers de lance de la nouvelle génération. Seul Russell n’a encore jamais gagné en F1 mais il vient de terminer six fois sur six dans le Top 5, à chaque Grand Prix de 2022, alors qu’il ne disposait pas, et de loin, de la meilleure monoplace du plateau, comme son leader.

Pour départager les ténors de la F1 moderne, un peu plus éco-responsable et beaucoup moins coûteuse pour les écuries, avec budget plafonné, un nouveau format est mis en place cette année à Monaco: trois journées de F1 tout compris, en comptant le vendredi matin réservé aux médias et le vendredi après-midi aux deux séances d’essais libres, cruciales pour préparer les qualifications du samedi après-midi.

C’est bien un 79e Grand Prix de Monaco hors-normes qui s’annonce, devant des tribunes pleines à ras bord, après deux ans de coronavirus, de masques et de contraintes sanitaires. C’est aussi le début d’une nouvelle ère pour la Formule 1, à Monaco et ailleurs, autour des Verstappen, Leclerc et Russell, mais aussi de Lando Norris et Daniel Ricciardo dans leurs McLaren, et de deux autres champions du monde capables à tout moment de renouer avec leur gloire passée, Fernando Alonso (Alpine) et Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin), grâce à leur immense expérience: 340 Grands Prix disputés (32 victoires) pour le double champion du monde espagnol, sacré en 2005 et 2006, 283 courses (et 53 victoires) pour le quadruple champion du monde allemand.

Sans oublier Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri) et Esteban Ocon (Alpine), les deux Normands, toujours à l’affût quand une occasion peut se présenter, comme à Monza ou en Hongrie lors de leur seul et unique succès en F1, à ce jour. Les deux premières victoires d’un Français en F1 depuis Olivier Panis en 1996… à Monaco !

Dimanche, c’est le talent, la stratégie et un soupçon de réussite, un ingrédient indispensable en Principauté, qui détermineront le nom du vainqueur. Ce sera à peu près la même recette pour les courses annexes, avec un menu particulièrement excitant : les futurs champions de la Formule 2, les jeunes loups de la Formule Régionale Europe by Alpine et les surpuissants coupés de la Porsche Supercup, qui vont une fois de plus ravir les amateurs de sensations fortes à l’ancienne.

Dans ce Grand Prix de Monaco nouvelle formule, les courses annexes seront les seules vedettes du jeudi de l’Ascension, avec une douzaine de Français en piste l’après-midi pour des essais libres en accès gratuit: Théo Pourchaire et Clément Novalak en Formule 2; Victor Bernier, Hadrien David, Esteban Masson, Maceo Capietto, Sami Meguetounif et Owen Tangavelou en Formule Régionale Alpine; Dorian Boccolacci, Clément Mateu, Marvin Klein, Evan Spenle et Stéphane Denoual,  en Porsche Supercup. Et quelques patronymes célèbres pour des jeunes pilotes qui veulent se faire un prénom: Fittipaldi, Barrichello, Montoya. Une chose est sûre, même si le format a changé, ça va encore être très chaud, tout le week-end, dans les rues de la Principauté !

Restaurant « Le Club »
La Billetterie
La Boutique Officielle
Visites Virtuelles
Inscription aux actualités de L’ACM