Upcoming Events

Official Ticketing: Book your tickets now   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 2024: Relive the 2024 edition   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique 2024: A great vintage year

Official Ticketing: Book your tickets now   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 2024: Relive the 2024 edition   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique 2024: A great vintage year

Menu

SS11: Tänak shines, Neuville consolidates

The fastest time on SS11 (Pellafol-Agnières-en-Dévoluy, 21.37km) was set by two Hyundai drivers, Ott Tänak, the 2019 World Champion, and Thierry Neuville, the provisional leader of the 92nd Monte-Carlo Rally. This 1-2 by the Korean brand showed that the 2024 version of the Hyundai i20N has everything it takes to do well against the Toyota Yaris this season.

“It’s an unfamiliar stage, so I didn’t take too many risks. And I couldn’t hear my co-driver’s notes very well, especially in the last section,” explained Neuville, who seems to be, more and more, in control of the rally after a cautious start on Thursday evening. The Belgian, five times runner-up in the World Championship, returned to the Gap service park at midday with a 5.1 second lead over Elfyn Evans and a 7.7 second lead over Sébastien Ogier.

Both Toyota drivers – one of whom, the Welshman, will be aiming for the world title, while the other, the Frenchman, will be content with a few official outings – may well have found someone to talk to, this season. Particularly if the new version of the Hyundai i20N, developed by technical director François-Xavier Demaison, an exceptional engineer from Citroën and then Volkswagen, continues to prove as reliable as it is efficient.

Hyundai on a high

The good performances this week by Neuville, and this morning by Tänak, show that this new Hyundai is healthy and easy to drive, and that it could be the pleasant surprise of the start of the 2024 season, against the ogre Toyota. In the meantime, there are still three stages to go this afternoon (SS12 to 14), the same as this morning, and three more on Sunday morning (SS15 to 17) on the way back to Monaco.

In WRC2, the battle is as fierce as ever. After SS10, Russia’s Nikolay Gryazin (Citroën C3) was leading the way again, ahead of Spain’s Pepe Lopez (Skoda Fabia RS) and Frenchman Yohan Rossel (Citroën C3), the 2021 WRC3 champion. The three drivers are all within 9 seconds of each other, on another planet compared to their rivals. Same as in Rally1.

Classification SS11

Restaurant « Le Club »
Official ticketing
Official store
Virtual tour
Subscribe to ACM news
Follow us

Événements à venir :

Billetterie Officielle : Réservez vos billets dès maintenant   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 2024 : Revivez l’édition 2024   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique 2024 : Un grand millésime

Billetterie Officielle : Réservez vos billets dès maintenant   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 2024 : Revivez l’édition 2024   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique 2024 : Un grand millésime

Menu

ES11 : Tänak brille, Neuville consolide

Ott Tanak a signé le meilleur temps dans l’ES11 (entre Pellafol et Agnières-en-Dévoluy, 21,37 km), son premier du rallye, et Thierry Neuville a consolidé sa place de leader provisoire du 92e Rallye Monte-Carlo. Les Hyundai sud-coréennes, dans leur version 2024, ont tout pour faire bonne figure cette saison face aux Toyota Yaris.

“C’est une spéciale qu’on ne connaît pas, donc je n’ai pas pris trop de risques. Et j’entendais assez mal les notes de mon copilote, surtout dans la dernière portion”, a expliqué Neuville, désormais en contrôle de ce rallye après un départ prudent, jeudi soir. Le Belge, cinq fois vice-champion du monde, est rentré au parc d’assistance de Gap, sur les coups de midi, avec 5.1 secondes d’avance sur Elfyn Evans et 7.7 sur Sébastien Ogier.

Les deux pilotes Toyota, dont un va viser le titre mondial (le Gallois), et l’autre va se contenter de quelques sorties officielles (le Français), ont peut-être trouvé à qui parler cette saison. Surtout si la nouvelle version de la Hyundai i20N, couvée et développée par le directeur technique François-Xavier Demaison, ingénieur hors-norme venu de Citroën, puis Volkswagen, continue à se montrer aussi fiable que performante.

Hyundai est dans le match

Les bonnes performances de Neuville cette semaine, et le temps scratch de Tanak dans cette ES11, montrent que cette nouvelle Hyundai est saine, facile à piloter, et que ce sera peut-être la bonne surprise de ce début de saison 2024, face à l’ogre Toyota. En attendant, il reste trois spéciales à parcourir cet après-midi (ES12 à ES14), les mêmes que ce matin, et encore trois dernières dimanche matin (ES15 à ES17), en revenant vers la Principauté de Monaco.

En WRC2, la bagarre est toujours aussi acharnée. Après l’ES10, le Russe Nikolay Gryazin (Citroën C3) mène le bal devant l’Espagnol Pepe Lopez (Skoda Fabia RS) et le Français Yohan Rossel (Citroën C3), champion WRC3 en 2021. Les trois pilotes sont regroupés en moins de 9 secondes. Sur une autre planète, comme le trio de tête du Rally1.

Classement ES11

Restaurant « Le Club »
La Billetterie
La Boutique Officielle
Visites Virtuelles
Inscription aux actualités de L’ACM
Suivez-nous