Upcoming Events

Official Ticketing: Book your tickets now   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 2024: Relive the 2024 edition   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique 2024: A great vintage year

Official Ticketing: Book your tickets now   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 2024: Relive the 2024 edition   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique 2024: A great vintage year

Menu

SS5: Ogier strikes again…

Two fastest times in a row for Sébastien Ogier on Friday morning, in SS4 and then SS5 between La Bréole and Selonnet (18.31km). The local hero made the most of this first loop of stages to move up to 2nd in the overall standings, 10.7 seconds behind Elfyn Evans, his Toyota team-mate. The 92nd Monte-Carlo Rally is well underway and suspense is total. For the 3rd place on the podium as well, since Adrien Fourmaux (M-Sport Ford) is driving faster and faster…

“It looks like I’m still alive. I’ve had a complicated week but I’m going to do my best. I’ll talk about it after the rally…” said a particularly emotional Seb Ogier at the end of this special stage, which marked the return to the impressive driving style which brought him eight world titles.

Faced with Ogier in maestro mode, the rally leader is still Evans, but he is now just ten seconds ahead of his French team-mate, 40 since December 17. His favourite number, the one he also carries as a race number on his black Yaris. Beaten by Ogier by 11.2 seconds on SS5, the Welshman was not confident: “There’s very little grip in the icy sections, and a lot more in the dry sections,” summed up the reigning vice-world champion.

Fourmaux raises his game

In addition to Ogier’s, the most successful performance of the stage came from M-Sport Ford driver Adrien Fourmaux, who set the 3rd fastest time just behind Evans, six-tenths only behind the Welshman. “We had a good set-up and some very good notes, so I felt good and enjoyed myself without taking too many risks. I’m happy,” said the Frenchman, back in Rally 1 after a season in WRC2.

On the Hyundai side, Ott Tänak found a good rhythm again and did better than his team-mate Thierry Neuville, on this stage, to make up for his small mistake on SS3. “I had a lot of mentions of icy conditions in my notes and I was too cautious. It’s complicated to take more risks when the co-driver’s notes say that there’s black ice everywhere”, regretted the Belgian at the stop point. He is now 3rd overall, 24.5 seconds behind Ogier, but anything is still possible on the remaining 12 stages until Sunday morning.

After the midday break in the Gap service park, a second loop is scheduled for this afternoon, with a second pass in the same three stages (SS6 to SS8). One thing is certain: they will be less slippery than in the morning version.

Classification SS5

Restaurant « Le Club »
Official ticketing
Official store
Virtual tour
Subscribe to ACM news
Follow us

Événements à venir :

Billetterie Officielle : Réservez vos billets dès maintenant   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 2024 : Revivez l’édition 2024   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique 2024 : Un grand millésime

Billetterie Officielle : Réservez vos billets dès maintenant   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 2024 : Revivez l’édition 2024   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique 2024 : Un grand millésime

Menu

ES5 : Ogier récidive…

Deux temps scratch d’affilée pour Sébastien Ogier vendredi matin, dans l’ES4 puis l’ES5, entre La Bréole et Selonnet (18,31 km). Le héros local a bien profité de cette première boucle et remonte au 2e rang du classement général, à 10.7 secondes d’Elfyn Evans, son coéquipier chez Toyota. Le 92e Rallye Monte-Carlo est bien lancé et le suspense est total. Notamment pour la 3e place sur le podium, car Adrien Fourmaux (M-Sport Ford) roule de plus en plus vite… 

“Il semblerait que je sois encore en vie. J’avais du mal jusque-là, j’ai une semaine compliquée mais je vais faire de mon mieux. J’en parlerai après le rallye… ”, a déclaré un Seb Ogier particulièrement ému, au point stop de cette spéciale négociée à la manière de ses plus belles saisons en WRC, couronnées par huit titres mondiaux.

Face à un Ogier en mode maestro, le leader du rallye est toujours Evans, mais il n’a plus qu’une dizaine de secondes d’avance sur son coéquipier français, 40 ans depuis le 17 décembre, son chiffre-fétiche, celui qu’il porte aussi comme numéro de course sur sa Yaris noire. Battu de 11.2 secondes dans cette ES5, par Ogier, le Gallois n’était pas en confiance : “Il y a très peu d’adhérence dans les portions verglacées, et beaucoup plus dans les portions sèches”, a résumé le vice-champion du monde en titre.

Fourmaux hausse le ton

La performance la plus réussie dans cette spéciale, en plus de celle d’Ogier, a été l’œuvre d’Adrien Fourmaux, le pilote M-Sport Ford : 3e chrono, juste derrière Evans, à six dixièmes seulement du Gallois. “On avait de bons réglages, de très bonnes notes, je me sentais bien et je me suis fait plaisir, sans prendre trop de risques. Je suis content”, a dit le Français, de retour en Rally1 après une saison en WRC2.

Du côté de chez Hyundai, Ott Tänak a retrouvé un bon rythme et fait mieux que son coéquipier Thierry Neuville, dans cette spéciale, pour compenser sa petite erreur dans l’ES3 : “J’avais beaucoup de mentions de verglas dans mes notes et j’ai été trop prudent. C’est compliqué de prendre plus de risques quand les notes du co-pilote disent qu’il y a du verglas partout”, a regretté le Belge au point stop. Il est désormais 3e du classement général, à 24.5 secondes d’Ogier, mais tout reste possible dans les 12 spéciales restantes, jusqu’à dimanche matin.

Après la pause de la mi-journée au parc d’assistance de Gap, une deuxième boucle est prévue cet après-midi, avec les trois mêmes spéciales (ES6 à ES8). Une seule chose est sûre, elles seront moins glissantes que dans leur version matinale.

Classement ES 5

Restaurant « Le Club »
La Billetterie
La Boutique Officielle
Visites Virtuelles
Inscription aux actualités de L’ACM
Suivez-nous