Upcoming Events

Official Ticketing: Stay tuned for the 2025 Opening Sales       –       Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco 2024 : Relive this 81st edition

Official Ticketing: Stay tuned for the 2025 Opening Sales       –       Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco 2024 : Relive this 81st edition

Menu

SS9: Neuville, the Wizard of Oze !

Thierry Neuville pulled out all the stops this morning on SS9 of the 92nd Rallye Monte-Carlo, between Esparron and Oze (18.79km), setting a magical, stratospheric time of 12 minutes, 12 seconds and 5 tenths, which enabled the Hyundai driver to move back ahead of Seb Ogier in the overall standings, just behind leader Elfyn Evans. The Toyota drivers will have to remain vigilant.

“I don’t understand. I must have been wide awake. The road conditions were better than expected. I did a decent stage”, smiled Neuville, totally incredulous, when his time was announced at the stop point. Not only did the Belgian beat rally leader Elfyn Evans by 9.6 seconds, but he also moved up the overall ranking. He also took the liberty to beat, fair and square, the best rally driver of the 21st century, eight-time world champion Sébastien Ogier, by a huge margin: one second per kilometre (18.8 seconds for 18.8km). With the same mix of tyres, three super-soft and one soft.

“It’s a lot of lost time. My crew notes were perhaps too cautious”, judged Ogier after his under-performance due to the change in road conditions in the space of two hours, between the passage of the road crews and that of the drivers. Several drivers were surprised, like Ogier and Evans for Toyota, but not Grégoire Munster, who set the 3rd fastest time on this SS9, in his Ford Puma entered by M-Sport. This was the other great coup of the early morning, with Neuville’s completely crazy time.

As a direct consequence, the overall classification was turned upside down from the outset on Saturday morning, and Evans, still in the lead, now has a 6.5-second advantage over Neuville after SS9. He held a 4.5-second lead over Ogier when he left the parc fermé in Gap, early this morning. So everything remains possible, more than ever, in this rally, especially as Ott Tänak, in the other leading Hyundai, had a bad start of the day: impossible to start his i20N this morning in Gap, then several engine (or throttle) cuts in SS9, the same as on Thursday evening in SS1 and 2.

Classification SS9

Restaurant « Le Club »
Official ticketing
Official store
Virtual tour
Subscribe to ACM news
Follow us

Événements à venir :

Billetterie Officielle : Réservez vos billets dès maintenant   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 2024 : Revivez l’édition 2024   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique 2024 : Un grand millésime

Billetterie Officielle : Réservez vos billets dès maintenant   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 2024 : Revivez l’édition 2024   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique 2024 : Un grand millésime

Menu

ES9 : Neuville, le magicien d’Oze

Thierry Neuville a frappé un très grand coup ce matin dans l’ES9 du 92e Rallye Monte-Carlo, entre Esparron et Oze (18,79 km), et réussi un chrono magique, stratosphérique : 12 minutes, 12 secondes et 5 dixièmes, qui permet au pilote Hyundai de repasser devant Seb Ogier au classement général, tout près du leader Elfyn Evans. Les pilotes Toyota vont devoir rester vigilants.

“Je ne comprends pas. Je devais être bien réveillé. Les conditions de route étaient meilleures que prévu. J’ai fait une spéciale décente”, a souri Neuville, totalement incrédule, quand son chrono lui a été annoncé au point stop. Non seulement le Belge a fait mieux, de 9.6 secondes, que le leader du rallye, Elfyn Evans. Mais il s’est aussi offert le luxe de coller une seconde au kilomètre, au dixième près (18.8 secondes pour 18,8 km), au meilleur pilote de rallye en activité, l’octuple champion du monde Sébastien Ogier. Avec le même mix de pneus, trois super-soft et un soft.

“C’est beaucoup de temps perdu. Mes notes étaient peut-être trop prudentes”, a jugé Ogier après sa contre-performance due au changement des conditions de route en l’espace de deux heures, entre le passage des ouvreurs et celui des pilotes. Plusieurs pilotes ont été surpris, comme Ogier et Evans chez Toyota, mais pas Grégoire Munster, auteur du 3e chrono de cette ES9 dans sa Ford Puma engagée par M-Sport. C’était l’autre joli coup du petit matin, avec le chrono complètement fou de Neuville.

Conséquence directe, le classement général a été chamboulé d’emblée, ce samedi matin, et Evans, toujours leader, a 6.5 secondes d’avance sur Neuville après l’ES9, alors qu’il en avait 4.5 sur Ogier en quittant le parc fermé de Gap, ce matin. Tout reste donc possible, plus que jamais, dans ce rallye, d’autant qu’Ott Tänak, dans l’autre Hyundai de pointe, a mal entamé cette journée : impossible de faire démarrer sa i20N ce matin à Gap, puis des coupures moteur (ou accélérateur) dans l’ES9, comme jeudi soir en ouverture du rallye.

Classement ES9

Restaurant « Le Club »
La Billetterie
La Boutique Officielle
Visites Virtuelles
Inscription aux actualités de L’ACM
Suivez-nous