Upcoming Events

91th Rallye Monte-Carlo:  Ogier / Landais, winners      -     25th Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique : Lancia and Swiss timing, the perfect match!      -     Official Store: Collections Rallyes 2023

91th Rallye Monte-Carlo:  Ogier / Landais, winners      -     25th Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique : Lancia and Swiss timing, the perfect match!      -     Official Store: Collections Rallyes 2023

Menu
13e Grand Prix de Monaco Historique
13 - 15 May 2022
NFT
Archieves
Partenaires

Prince Albert launches a historic 13th edition

HSH Prince Albert II of Monaco launched the 13th edition of Grand Prix de Monaco Historique on Friday morning by spending a long time in the paddock where more than 180 exceptional cars and their experienced drivers were waiting to finally be able to enter the mythical track which will be reserved for them all weekend.

Welcomed by Michel Ferry, Vice-President of the Automobile Club of Monaco (ACM) in charge of Sport, and by Gery Mestre, President of the Classic Cars Commission, Prince Albert had a long talk with Monegasque driver Frédéric Lajoux entered as in 2018, in the F Series, driving a superb black and gold Arrows, dating from 1978. Also with the aim of paying tribute to young Formula 2 driver Anthoine Hubert, tragically deceased at Spa-Francorchamps in August 2019 .

While His Serene Highness wandered around the paddock, the first three series, A1, A2 and B, allowed the ACM stewards, already well trained by the Monaco E-Prix 15 days ago, to get on the job. They were very efficient, as always, in Sainte-Dévote and La Rascasse following small shocks against the safety barriers or minor incidents with limited damage, and there was no need to wave red flags.

The first quality lap times fell to A1 series drivers, notably the venerable ERAs of Nicholas Topliss (Class 1) and Mark Gillies (Class 2), pre-war cars (voiturettes) managing to beat a pack of Bugattis, Maseratis and other Alfa Romeos.

In the B series, under the expert eyes of Clive Chapman, son of Colin Chapman and boss of the Lotus Classic Cars team, a car from the English brand that was the fastest: the Lotus 21 of 1961, with a Climax engine, entered for Mark Shaw, a regular customer of the event, who beat Joseph Colasacco’s Ferrari and Christopher Drake’s Cooper-Ford.

All eight series were on the menu of this opening day of the 13th GP de Monaco Historique, including a huge number of Lotus cars to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the passing of Colin Chapman . Most of them in English green livery, the famous “Racing Green” often seen in the 60s, or in black and gold livery, as was the case in the 70s. To the delight of nostalgics!!!

Restaurant « Le Club »
Official ticketing
Official store
Virtual tour
Subscribe to ACM news

Événements à venir :

Grand Prix de Monaco Historique 2024 : Présentation   –   Billetterie Officielle : Réservez vos billets dès maintenant

Grand Prix de Monaco Historique 2024 : Présentation   –   Billetterie Officielle : Réservez vos billets dès maintenant

Menu

S.A.S. Le Prince Albert II lance une 13e édition historique

SAS le Prince Albert II de Monaco a lancé vendredi matin la 13 e édition du Grand Prix de Monaco Historique en passant un long moment dans le paddock où plus de 180 voitures d’exception, et leurs pilotes chevronnés, attendaient de pouvoir enfin rentrer sur la piste mythique qui va leur être réservée tout le week-end.

Accueilli par Michel Ferry, Vice-Président de l’Automobile Club de Monaco (ACM) en charge du Sport et par Gery Mestre, Président de la Commission des Voitures de Collection, le Prince Albert s’est longuement entretenu avec le pilote monégasque Frédéric Lajoux engagé comme en 2018, dans la Série F, au volant d’une superbe Arrows noir et or, datant de 1978. Avec aussi comme objectif de rendre hommage au jeune pilote de Formule 2 Anthoine Hubert, tragiquement décédé à Spa-Francorchamps en août 2019.

Pendant que Son Altesse Sérénissime déambulait dans le paddock, les trois premières séries, A1, A2 et B, ont permis aux commissaires de l’ACM, déjà bien entraînés par le Monaco E-Prix d’il y a 15 jours, de se mettre en route. Ils sont intervenus notamment à Sainte-Dévote et à la Rascasse suite à des petits chocs ou accrochages sans gravité, sans qu’il y ait besoin d’agiter des drapeaux rouges.

Les premiers chronos de qualité sont tombés dans l’escarcelle des pilotes de voiturettes de la série A1, notamment les vénérables ERA de Nicholas Topliss (Classe 1) et Mark Gillies (Classe 2), des voitures d’avant-guerre, qui ont devancé une meute de Bugatti, Maserati et autres Alfa Romeo.

Dans la série B, sous les yeux de Clive Chapman, le fils de Colin Chapman et patron de l’écurie Lotus Classic Cars, c’est bien une voiture de la marque anglaise qui a été la plus rapide, la Lotus 21 à moteur Climax de Mark Shaw, un client régulier du GP Historique en Principauté. Il a devancé la Ferrari de Joseph Colasacco et la Cooper-Ford de Christopher Drake.

Cinq autres séries étaient au menu, tout l’après-midi, de cette première journée du 13e GP de Monaco Historique, dont une quantité de Lotus, réparties dans plusieurs séries, venues célébrer le quarantième anniversaire de la disparition de l’immense Colin Chapman. La plupart en livrée vert anglais, le célèbre « Racing Green », comme souvent dans les années 60, ou en livrée noir et or, comme dans les années 70. Pour le plus grand bonheur des nostalgiques !!!

Restaurant « Le Club »
La Billetterie
La Boutique Officielle
Visites Virtuelles
Inscription aux actualités de L’ACM
Suivez-nous