Upcoming Events

Official Ticketing: Book your tickets now   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 2024: Relive the 2024 edition   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique 2024: A great vintage year

Official Ticketing: Book your tickets now   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 2024: Relive the 2024 edition   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique 2024: A great vintage year

Menu

Neuville: 20 wins in WRC, 30 points to start 2024!

He’s done it! Thierry Neuville dominated the 92nd Monte-Carlo Rally, claiming his 20th win in WRC and pocketing all 30 points available under the new World Championship points system. He is now, logically, the favourite for 2024.

It was an even-handed victory over Sébastien Ogier (Toyota), the absolute benchmark in the Monte-Carlo (9 wins), who today scored his 99th WRC podium. But the Frenchman was in mourning, as he said at the finish of the last special stage: “It was difficult to say goodbye on Monday to someone who was very important to me, who launched my career in motorsport and who bought me my first go-kart”.

Because he is a great champion, Ogier took the start anyway, after having considered withdrawing, but he was upset all week. His attitude, his behaviour and his performances (6 best times on Friday and Saturday) were all blatant tributes to this member of his family who had suddenly passed away. And he searched for no excuse.

“It was a great battle with Thierry [Neuville]. Well done to him, he was very quick this weekend. It was a difficult week for me. It was a rollercoaster of emotions. I really struggled on Friday,” said the eight-time world champion, whose emotions as a young driver came flooding back this week on his home turf.

A double for Neuville in the Principality

That in no way detracts from Neuville’s merit, who won for the 2nd time in the Principality, after his victory in 2020, and took the maximum number of points available under the new championship scale (30), because he was also the best in the Power Stage. His Hyundai was the absolute weapon this week, thanks also to the new Hyundai technical director, François Xavier Demaison (formerly with Citroën Sport, VW Motorsport and Williams F1).

The Belgian hopes, in his heart of hearts, that it will remain so throughout the season, to help him finally claim the world crown that has eluded him since his WRC debut in 2012. He is already the stage winner leader for 2024, having set eight fastest times in this rally, compared to six for Ogier, two for Evans and one for Tänak.

“I’m at a loss for words. It was such a great weekend and I felt so comfortable. The whole team did a fantastic job and I think it worked really well. We need to keep working, but we’re very happy to win this rally,” reacted Neuville, before climbing onto the podium on Col de Turini. For co-driver Martijn Wydaeghe, it was a first Monte Carlo victory since he took over from Nicolas Gilsoul in the right-hand bucket.

Successful comeback for Fourmaux

The podium, behind the untouchable Neuville and Ogier, was completed by Elfyn Evans (Toyota), the reigning world vice-champion who led from Thursday evening to Saturday morning. “We weren’t quick enough to win this weekend. The potential was there but we didn’t do what we needed to do on Saturday afternoon. On this stage, things were fine but the tyres started to weaken on the climb [to the Col de Turini]. That’s just the way it is”, summed up the Welshman.

The last spots in the Top 5 went to Ott Tänak (Hyundai), the 2019 World Champion, and Adrien Fourmaux (M-Sport Ford). “We are very happy to be at the end of this rally, at the top of the Col de Turini. We still need to improve on certain aspects but for the start of the season, it’s really good, so I’m positive,” explained Fourmaux, back in the queen category (Rally1) after a season of purgatory in WRC2.

WRC: Rossel wins at the end

In addition to Ogier and Fourmaux, the colours of French rallying were also brilliantly defended by Yohan Rossel (Citroën), the 2021 WRC3 champion. He won the WRC2 category thanks to a clear-cut fastest time on Col de Turini, even though he was only 3rd in the standings on Sunday morning when he left the service park in Gap.

Once again, it was a Monte-Carlo Rally to remember in many ways. One of the most important features for the organisers at Automobile Club de Monaco (ACM) is always the safety of the thousands of spectators in all the departments crossed. Thanks to the patience and dedication of dozens of volunteer marshals from the ACM, the mission was accomplished and successful, from start to finish.

General Classification

Restaurant « Le Club »
Official ticketing
Official store
Virtual tour
Subscribe to ACM news
Follow us

Événements à venir :

Grand Prix de Monaco Historique 2024 : Présentation   –   Billetterie Officielle : Réservez vos billets dès maintenant

Grand Prix de Monaco Historique 2024 : Présentation   –   Billetterie Officielle : Réservez vos billets dès maintenant

Menu

Thierry Neuville : 20e victoire, 30 points, carton plein !

Il l’a fait ! Thierry Neuville a dominé le 92e Rallye Monte-Carlo, remporté dimanche sa 20e victoire en WRC et empoché la totalité des 30 points prévus par le nouveau barème du Championnat du monde WRC dont il est désormais le favori pour 2024.

C’est une victoire à la régulière face à Sébastien Ogier (Toyota), la référence absolue du Monte-Carlo (9 victoires), qui signe aujourd’hui son 99e podium en WRC. Mais le Français était en deuil et il l’a dit à l’arrivée de la dernière épreuve spéciale : “C’était difficile de dire au revoir lundi à quelqu’un qui a été très important pour moi, qui a lancé ma carrière dans le sport auto et qui m’a acheté mon premier kart.”

En très grand champion, Ogier a quand même pris le départ, après avoir envisagé de déclarer forfait, mais il était bouleversé, toute la semaine. Son attitude, son comportement, ses performances (6 temps scratch vendredi et samedi), ont été autant d’hommages très forts, très discrets, à ce membre de sa famille soudainement disparu.

“C’était une belle bataille avec Thierry [Neuville]. Bien joué à lui, il a été très rapide ce week-end. Pour moi, c’était une semaine difficile. Une montagne russe d’émotions. J’ai vraiment eu beaucoup de mal vendredi”, a confié l’octuple champion du monde, dont toutes les émotions de jeune pilote sont remontées cette semaine, sur ses terres natales.

Doublé de Neuville en Principauté

Cela n’enlève rien au mérite de Neuville, qui s’impose pour la 2e fois en Principauté, après sa victoire de 2020, et prend le maximum de points prévus par le nouveau barème du championnat (30), car il a aussi été le meilleur dans la Power Stage. Sa Hyundai était l’arme absolue cette semaine, grâce aussi au nouveau directeur technique, François Xavier Demaison (ex-Citroën, VW et Williams F1).

Le Belge espère bien, au plus profond de lui-même, qu’elle va le rester toute la saison, pour l’aider à coiffer enfin cette couronne mondiale qui le fuit depuis ses débuts en WRC, en 2012. Il est déjà le leader du vainqueur de spéciales pour 2024, puisqu’il a signé 8 meilleurs temps dans ce rallye, contre 6 pour Ogier, 2 pour Evans et 1 pour Tänak.

“Je n’ai pas les mots. Ce week-end était tellement génial, je me suis senti tellement à l’aise. L’équipe au complet à fait un travail formidable et je pense que l’ensemble à très bien fonctionné. Nous avons besoin de continuer à travailler, mais nous sommes très heureux de remporter ce rallye”, a réagi Neuville, à chaud, avant de monter sur le podium du Col de Turini. Pour son copilote Martijn Wydaeghe, c’est une première victoire au Monte-Carlo, car il a remplacé Nicolas Gilsoul dans le baquet de droite.

Retour réussi pour Fourmaux

Le podium, derrière Neuville et Ogier, intouchables, est complété par Elfyn Evans (Toyota), le vice-champion du monde en titre, leader de jeudi soir à samedi matin. “Nous n’avons pas été assez rapides pour gagner ce week-end. Le potentiel était là mais nous n’avons pas fait ce qu’il fallait samedi après-midi. Sur cette spéciale, ça allait mais les pneus ont commencé à faiblir dans la montée [du Col de Turini]. C’est comme ça.”, a résumé le Gallois.

Les places d’honneur, dans le Top 5, ont été conquises par Ott Tänak (Hyundai), le champion du monde 2019, et Adrien Fourmaux (M-Sport Ford). “Nous sommes très heureux d’être à la fin de ce rallye, au sommet du Col de Turini. Nous devons toujours nous améliorer sur certains aspects mais pour un début de saison, c’est vraiment bien, donc je suis positif”, a expliqué Fourmaux, de retour dans la catégorie-reine (Rally1) après une saison de purgatoire en WRC2.

Rossel vainqueur in extremis en WRC2

En plus d’Ogier et Fourmaux, les couleurs du rallye français ont également été brillamment défendues par Yohan Rossel (Citroën), le champion WRC3 de 2021. Il remporte la catégorie WRC2 grâce à un temps scratch, net et sans bavure, dans le Col de Turini, alors qu’il n’était que 3e du classement dimanche matin en quittant le parc d’assistance de Gap.

C’était, une fois de plus, un Rallye Monte-Carlo mémorable sur plusieurs points. Notamment un point très important pour les organisateurs, l’Automobile Club de Monaco (ACM) : la sécurité des milliers de spectateurs, dans tous les départements traversés, grâce à la patience et au dévouement des dizaines de commissaires bénévoles de l’ACM. Comme pour Neuville et Ogier, la mission a été accomplie et réussie, de bout en bout.

Classement général

Restaurant « Le Club »
La Billetterie
La Boutique Officielle
Visites Virtuelles
Inscription aux actualités de L’ACM
Suivez-nous