Upcoming Events

E-Rallye Monte-Carlo 2024: Save the dates!       –       Official Ticketing: Stay tuned for the 2025 Opening Sales       –       Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco 2024 : Relive this 81st edition

E-Rallye Monte-Carlo 2024: Save the dates!       –       Official Ticketing: Stay tuned for the 2025 Opening Sales       –       Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco 2024 : Relive this 81st edition

Menu
SS1: Evans opens in style!
18 July 2024

SS1: Evans opens in style!

World Rally Championship three-time runner-up Elfyn Evans struck a blow from the outset by setting the fastest time in the first special stage of the 92nd Rally Monte-Carlo on Thursday evening between Thoard and Saint-Geniez (SS1, 21.01km).

Equipped with four soft tyres and two spare wheels in the boot of his Toyota Yaris, the Welshman started first, thanks to his world ranking at the end of last year. He took advantage of an ultra-clean road, dry from start to finish, to set a time of 12:12.9 on this special stage run in the opposite direction to the 2022 edition, via the famous Col de Fontbelle, at an altitude of 1,300 metres. “It was surprising to have such a high level of grip at the start of the rally. I don’t know if I managed to make the most of it, but overall it went well”, commented the Toyota driver.

The best resistance to Evans came from the most capped driver in the Hyundai camp. Estonia’s Ott Tänak, the 2019 world champion, lost just 5.2 seconds to the Welshman, thanks to having set off, like his team-mate Thierry Neuville, with just one spare wheel in the boot, to save a little weight. And although he encountered some problems with his main pedal sometimes staying in full throttle, which is always annoying.

Ogier ten seconds behind Evans on a dirty road

“It was the right solution,” said Neuville at the stop, not too disappointed at having lost 8.3 seconds to Evans because he wanted above all to avoid overheating, and therefore damaging his soft tyres, before attacking the next stage, 25km long between Bayons and Bréziers. The Belgian, who won here in 2020, knows that Rally Monte-Carlo is always “a very long event” and that it’s important not to get carried away early. He will have plenty of other opportunities to shine, throughout the 17 special stages until Sunday morning’s grand finale.

Last but not least, Sébastien Ogier, the ultimate favourite, lost 9.8 seconds to his team-mate Evans, with a very simple explanation: “The road was very dirty, so the first on the road (Evans) really had a big advantage”, summed up the eight-time world champion, winner of the 2023 edition. “I was expecting it, so I’m not surprised,” added the driver from the Hautes-Alpes, before setting off towards his native region.

The other Frenchman competing in Rally1, Adrien Fourmaux, was delighted with the first stage of his comeback to the top category. “There were lots of spectators and lights, and I love driving at night,” said Adrien Fourmaux, on whom rest the main hopes of M-Sport. But he had to slow down in places at the wheel of his Ford Puma: “The road was so dirty that in some bends I couldn’t see the trajectory, there was dirt and stones everywhere, so I had to slow down”. But that didn’t stop him from setting the 5th fastest time on the stage, 16.2 seconds behind Evans. Quite a good start.

Classification SS1

Restaurant « Le Club »
Official ticketing
Official store
Virtual tour
Subscribe to ACM news
Follow us

Événements à venir :

Billetterie Officielle : Réservez vos billets dès maintenant   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 2024 : Revivez l’édition 2024   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique 2024 : Un grand millésime

Billetterie Officielle : Réservez vos billets dès maintenant   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 2024 : Revivez l’édition 2024   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique 2024 : Un grand millésime

Menu

ES1 : Evans frappe fort d’entrée !

Le vice-champion du monde des rallyes, Elfyn Evans, a frappé un grand coup d’entrée de jeu en signant le meilleur temps dans la première spéciale du 92e Rallye Monte-Carlo, jeudi soir entre Thoard et Saint-Geniez (ES1, 21,01 km).

Chaussé de quatre pneus tendres, et avec deux roues de secours dans le coffre de sa Toyota Yaris, le Gallois est parti le premier, en vertu du classement 2023 du championnat du monde. Il a donc profité d’une route ultra-propre, sèche de bout en bout, pour signer un chrono de 12’12’’9 sur cette spéciale parcourue en sens inverse de l’édition 2022, via le fameux col de Fontbelle, à 1300 m d’altitude. « C’était surprenant d’avoir un tel niveau d’adhérence, en début de rallye. Je ne sais pas si j’ai réussi à bien m’en servir, mais globalement ça s’est bien passé », a résumé le pilote Toyota.

La meilleure résistance à Evans est venue du pilote le plus capé du camp Hyundai. L’Estonien Ott Tänak, sacré champion du monde en 2019, a perdu 5.2 secondes sur le Gallois, alors qu’il était parti, comme son coéquipier Thierry Neuville, avec une seule roue de secours dans le coffre, pour gagner un peu de poids. Et alors qu’il a connu des petits problèmes au niveau de sa pédale d’accélérateur, qui restait enfoncée, ce qui est toujours délicat à gérer.

Ogier à dix secondes d’Evans sur une route sale

« C’était la bonne solution », a dit Neuville au point stop, pas trop déçu d’avoir perdu 8.3 secondes sur Evans parce qu’il voulait surtout éviter de faire surchauffer, et donc d’abîmer ses pneus tendres, avant d’attaquer la spéciale suivante, longue de 25.19 km entre Bayons et Bréziers. Le Belge, vainqueur en 2020, sait qu’un Rallye Monte-Carlo, « c’est très long », et qu’il ne faut pas trop s’emballer d’entrée. Il aura d’autres occasions de briller, tout au long des 17 spéciales prévues jusqu’à la grande finale de dimanche matin.

Reste le grand favori, Sébastien Ogier, qui a lâché 9.8 secondes à son coéquipier Evans, avec une explication très simple : « La route était très sale, donc le premier sur la route (Evans) avait vraiment un gros avantage », a résumé l’octuple champion du monde, vainqueur de l’édition 2023 et donc tenant du titre. « Je m’y attendais, donc je ne suis pas surpris », a ajouté le pilote des Hautes-Alpes, avant de repartir en direction de sa région natale.

L’autre Français engagé en Rally1, la catégorie-reine, s’est montré ravi de cette première spéciale. « Il y avait beaucoup de public, des feux de camp, et j’adore piloter la nuit », a confié Adrien Fourmaux au point stop. Le pilote français, sur qui reposent les principaux espoirs de M-Sport, est de retour dans la catégorie-reine, comme en 2022, mais il a dû ralentir par endroits, au volant de sa Ford Puma : « La route était tellement sale que dans certains virages je ne voyais plus la trajectoire, il y avait de la terre et des pierres partout, alors j’ai été obligé de ralentir ». Ce qui ne l’a pas empêché de signer le 5e chrono dans cette spéciale, à 16.2 secondes d’Evans. Une belle entame.

Classement ES1

Restaurant « Le Club »
La Billetterie
La Boutique Officielle
Visites Virtuelles
Inscription aux actualités de L’ACM
Suivez-nous