Upcoming Events

Official Ticketing: Book your tickets now   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 2024: Relive the 2024 edition   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique 2024: A great vintage year

Official Ticketing: Book your tickets now   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 2024: Relive the 2024 edition   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique 2024: A great vintage year

Menu

SS18: a 9th record win for Ogier, 5 bonus points for Rovanperä

The ultimate favorite of the 91st Rally Monte-Carlo, Sébastien Ogier, took his 9th record win on Sunday at Col de Turini. In front of the reigning world champion, Finnish youngster Kalle Rovanperä who ended this 2023 edition in style by winning the Power Stage and taking five bonus points to launch his defending campaign in the World Rally Championship (WRC).

“It’s huge, it’s my rally, the one that made me dream. A victory here is priceless,” Ogier said as he climbed off the roof of his Toyota Yaris, at the end of SS18. “This is my 56th victory in the WRC, but it is the first for my co-driver Vincent Landais. He deserves it because he did a great job. It was a perfect weekend”, added the new record holder for wins in a Rally Monte-Carlo, welcomed by his parents at the finish of this last stage.

The final podium of this rally, with Ogier and Rovanperä (Toyota Gazoo Racing) followed by Thierry Neuville (Hyundai Motorsport), perfectly reflects the way this completely dry event took place, on asphalt roads where the only notable traps, in some stages, were rocks detached from the road banks by the passage of numerous competitors.

The first three avoided all the pitfalls and the others did what they could, confronted to punctures, power steering failures, hybrid system issues, bad tire choices. They all experienced ups and downs, in all classes of the standings, in the purest tradition of Rally Monte-Carlo.

In the final standings, behind the Ogier-Rovanperä-Neuville trio, the honors were taken by Elfyn Evans (4th) in another Toyota, Ott Tänak (5th) in the M-Sport team’s fastest hybrid Ford Fiesta, and Takamoto Katsuta (6th), also in a Toyota, who was delayed by an untimely puncture in SS18.

In WRC2, Russia’s Nikolay Gryazin (Skoda Fabia), who races under the banner of his national Automobile Club, resisted Yohan Rossel (Citroën C3) until the end. In this high-level class, the podium was completed by Spaniard Pepe Lopez (Hyundai i20N).

Power Stage (ES/SS 18, Col de Turini) :
1.       Rovanperä (Toyota)     5 pts
2.       Tänak (M-Sport Ford)  4 pts
3.       Evans (Toyota)               3 pts
4.       Neuville (Hyundai)        2 pts
5.       Ogier (Toyota)                1 pt

Restaurant « Le Club »
Official ticketing
Official store
Virtual tour
Subscribe to ACM news
Follow us

Événements à venir :

91e Rallye Monte-Carlo :  Ogier / Landais, vainqueurs      -     25e Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique – du 24 janvier au 1er février 2023 –  La liste des engagés      -     La Boutique Officielle : Vos idées cadeaux pour Noël

91e Rallye Monte-Carlo :  Ogier / Landais, vainqueurs      -     25e Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique – du 24 janvier au 1er février 2023 –  La liste des engagés      -     La Boutique Officielle : Vos idées cadeaux pour Noël

Menu
91e Rallye Automobile Monte‑Carlo
16 - 22 janvier 2023
Live Classements / Résultats
Hospitalité
Archives
Partenaires

ES18 : la 9e pour Ogier, le bonus pour Rovanperä

Le grand favori du 91e Rallye Monte-Carlo, Sébastien Ogier, a remporté comme prévu sa 9e victoire en Principauté, dimanche au Col de Turini. Le jeune champion du monde en titre, Kalle Rovanperä, a quant à lui clôturé en beauté cette édition 2023 en remportant la Power Stage finale, agrémentée de cinq points de bonus au classement du Championnat du monde (WRC).

« C’est énorme, c’est mon rallye, celui qui m’a fait rêver. Une victoire ici, ça n’a pas de prix », a dit Ogier en redescendant du toit de sa Toyota Yaris, juste après le point stop de l’ES18 (La Bollène-Vésubie – Col de Turini, 15,12 km). « C’est ma 56e victoire en WRC, mais c’est la première pour mon copilote Vincent Landais. Il la mérite car il a fait un travail formidable. C’était un week-end parfait », a ajouté le nouveau détenteur du record absolu de victoires dans un Monte-Carlo, accueilli par ses parents à l’arrivée de cette dernière spéciale.

Le podium final de ce rallye, composé d’Ogier et Rovanperä (Toyota Gazoo Racing), suivis de Thierry Neuville (Hyundai Motorsport), reflète parfaitement la manière dont s’est déroulée cette épreuve intégralement sèche, sur des routes en asphalte où les seuls pièges notables, dans certaines spéciales, étaient des cailloux détachés de la corde par le passage des concurrents.

Les trois premiers ont évité tous les pièges et les autres ont fait comme ils ont pu, entre crevaison et panne de direction assistée, entre touchette et problème de système hybride, en faisant parfois des mauvais choix de pneus, en vivant des hauts et des bas à tous les échelons du classement, dans la plus pure tradition du Rallye Monte-Carlo.

Au classement général final, derrière le trio Ogier-Rovanperä-Neuville, les places d’honneur ont été prises par Elfyn Evans (4e) dans une autre Toyota, Ott Tänak (5e) dans la plus rapide des Ford Fiesta hybrides de l’écurie M-Sport, et Takamoto Katsuta (6e) dans une Toyota lui aussi, mais retardé par une crevaison dans l’ES18.

En WRC2, le Russe Nikolay Gryazin (Skoda Fabia), qui court sous la bannière de son Automobile Club national, a résisté jusqu’au bout à Yohan Rossel (Citroën C3). Dans cette catégorie très relevée, où la bagarre a fait rage jusqu’au bout, l’Espagnol Pepe Lopez (Hyundai i20N) a complété le podium.

Power Stage (ES/SS 18, Col de Turini) :
1.       Rovanperä (Toyota)     5 pts
2.       Tänak (M-Sport Ford)  4 pts
3.       Evans (Toyota)               3 pts
4.       Neuville (Hyundai)        2 pts
5.       Ogier (Toyota)                1 pt

Restaurant « Le Club »
La Billetterie
La Boutique Officielle
Visites Virtuelles
Inscription aux actualités de L’ACM