Upcoming Events

Official Ticketing: Book your tickets now       –       Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco 2024 : Introduction

Official Ticketing: Book your tickets now       –       Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco 2024 : Introduction

Menu

SS2: Ogier widens the gap and returns to the harbour

He did not come as a tourist, Sébastien Ogier, to the 91st Monte-Carlo Rally: two stage wins to start without any hesitation in the process, and without leaving crumbs for his well-armed rivals. In SS2, between La Cabanette and Col de Castillon (24.90km), the eight-time World Champion upped the pace and relegated Elfyn Evans, his Toyota Gazoo Racing teammate, 4.7 seconds back, instead of 1.3 second in SS1, over 15 km.

“For once, we are not opening the road and that is a real advantage”, Ogier explained at the end of SS2. Starting in sixth position on the road, by virtue of the 2022 WRC classification, the luxury freelancer of the Japanese brand was not surprised in the very slippery left corner, with numerous spectators, located at km 10.5 of this SS2. A few minutes after another one of his teammates, 2022 World Champion Kalle Rovanperä, made a mistake, as did Belgian Thierry Neuville (Hyundai), exactly in the same turn.

“I don’t know what happened, I had no grip and I certainly wasn’t the first to get caught out. I could see the tracks on the road but it was too late to react,” Neuville said. He lost around ten seconds in the incident, just like Rovanperä. This is two seconds more than 2019 champion Ott Tänak (M-Sport Ford), still faced with power cuts when he changed gears in his hybrid Ford Puma.

After these first two tricky stages, everyone returned to the Port of Monaco for a well-deserved night’s rest. This first day had started early, with the Peille shakedown, and it ended more than twelve hours later, at Col de Castillon. Friday will be even more challenging with six special stages on the card (SS3 to SS8), i.e. 105 km of pure rallying around Puget-Théniers and Entrevaux (Alpes de Haute-Provence).

At the start on Friday morning, Ogier will hold a six-second advantage on Evans (2nd), and he will also benefit from a 15.4 margin over Tänak (3rd) and 15.5 over Neuville (4th), the former teammates at Hyundai. He stands 17.1 ahead of Rovanperä (5th), the “new generation” Finn, 32.1 over Dani Sordo (6th) in another Hyundai, and 40.3 over Pierre-Louis Loubet (7th) in the other works Puma of the M-Sport Ford team. Bring on Day 2!

Restaurant « Le Club »
Official ticketing
Official store
Virtual tour
Subscribe to ACM news
Follow us

Événements à venir :

Grand Prix de Monaco Historique 2024 : Présentation   –   Billetterie Officielle : Réservez vos billets dès maintenant

Grand Prix de Monaco Historique 2024 : Présentation   –   Billetterie Officielle : Réservez vos billets dès maintenant

Menu

ES2 : Ogier creuse l’écart et rentre au port

Il n’est pas venu en touriste, Sébastien Ogier, au 91e Rallye Monte-Carlo : deux temps scratch pour commencer, sans hésiter et sans laisser de miettes à ses rivaux pourtant bien armés eux aussi. Dans l’ES2, entre La Cabanette et le Col de Castillon (24,90 km), l’octuple champion du monde a encore haussé le rythme. De quoi reléguer Elfyn Evans, son coéquipier du Toyota Gazoo Racing, à 4.7 secondes, au lieu de 1.3 seconde dans l’ES1, sur 15 km seulement.

« Pour une fois, nous n’ouvrons pas la route et c’est un vrai avantage », a réagi Ogier au point stop. Parti en sixième position sur la route, en vertu du classement 2022 du WRC, le pigiste de luxe de la marque japonaise ne s’est pas laissé surprendre dans le virage à gauche, très glissant, où les spectateurs étaient nombreux, situé au kilomètre 10.5 de cette ES2. Alors qu’un autre de ses coéquipiers, le champion du monde Kalle Rovanperä, est parti à la faute, tout comme le Belge Thierry Neuville (Hyundai), exactement au même endroit.

« Je ne sais pas ce qui s’est passé, je n’avais pas d’adhérence et je n’ai certainement pas été le premier à me faire surprendre. J’ai pu voir les traces sur la route mais c’était trop tard pour réagir », a raconté Neuville. Il a perdu, comme Rovanperä, une dizaine de secondes dans cet écart de trajectoire, soit deux secondes de plus que le champion du monde 2019, Ott Tänak (M-Sport Ford), toujours confronté à des coupures électriques quand il changeait de vitesse dans sa Ford Puma hybride.

Après ces deux premières spéciales délicates, tout le monde est rentré au port de Monaco pour une nuit de repos bien méritée. Cette première journée avait commencé tôt, par le shakedown de Peille, et elle s’est terminée plus de douze heures plus tard, au col de Castillon. Celle de vendredi sera encore plus éprouvante avec six spéciales au menu (ES3 à ES8), soit 105 km chronométrés autour de Puget-Théniers et Entrevaux (Alpes de Haute-Provence).

Au départ vendredi matin, Ogier aura six secondes d’avance sur Evans (2e), tout rond, 15.4 sur Tänak (3e) et 15.5 sur Neuville (4e), les deux anciens coéquipiers de chez Hyundai, 17.1 sur Rovanperä (5e), le Finlandais « nouvelle génération », 32.1 sur Dani Sordo (6e) dans l’autre Hyundai de pointe, et 40.3 sur Pierre-Louis Loubet (7e) dans l’autre Ford Puma officielle. Vivement la suite !

Restaurant « Le Club »
La Billetterie
La Boutique Officielle
Visites Virtuelles
Inscription aux actualités de L’ACM
Suivez-nous