Upcoming Events

Official Ticketing: Stay tuned for the 2025 Opening Sales       –       Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco 2024 : Relive this 81st edition

Official Ticketing: Stay tuned for the 2025 Opening Sales       –       Formula 1 Grand Prix de Monaco 2024 : Relive this 81st edition

Menu

SS4: Ogier, first!

Last year’s winner waited until mid-morning on Friday to set his first fastest time of the 92ndMonte-Carlo Rally: best time for Sébastien Ogier in his black Toyota Yaris on the first pass of the day between Champcella and Saint-Clément (17.87km), to come within just three seconds of Neuville, who lost a handful of seconds in a spin.

“I think it’s difficult to go faster with this starting position (the same as Thursday evening, based on the 2023 championship standings), but in this stage there was a little less dirt on the road,” reacted the eight-time world champion after the 693rd fastest time of his WRC career.

“I don’t understand. I lost the rear, suddenly. I was surprised,” said Neuville, who chose the right spot for his spin: a dry, flat field in which he didn’t lose too much time. He reversed and started again, losing 9 seconds to Ogier, just when the Belgian driver could aim for a second fastest time in a row.

Evans stays ahead

The rally leader is still Elfyn Evans (Toyota), who has switched to management mode. He still holds a 18.8-second lead over Neuville going into SS5, the last of the first loop, and 21.9 seconds over Ogier. “The grip was very low in some places. It wasn’t easy and maybe I was too careful,” admitted the Welshman.

The route of SS4 was varied, dry on the whole, and the numerous spectators were very disciplined, well protected by the ACM marshals and hundreds of metres of tape. Behind Ogier and Evans, Ott Tänak (Hyundai) regained his confidence after his small mistake on SS3. With the 3rd fastest time, he moved back to 4th overall, ahead of Adrien Fourmaux (M-Sport Ford), the Frenchman happy with his new set-up. But the Estonian, the 2019 world champion, found the road “dirty”, which encouraged him to drive “clean”.

In the chasing pack, the battle continued to rage between three supporting roles in this suspenseful play: Takamoto Katsuta (Toyota), Andreas Mikkelsen (Hyundai) and Grégoire Munster (M-Sport Ford), very close in performance at the end of this SS4. A really superb stage, from start to finish.

Classification SS 4

Restaurant « Le Club »
Official ticketing
Official store
Virtual tour
Subscribe to ACM news
Follow us

Événements à venir :

Billetterie Officielle : Réservez vos billets dès maintenant   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 2024 : Revivez l’édition 2024   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique 2024 : Un grand millésime

Billetterie Officielle : Réservez vos billets dès maintenant   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 2024 : Revivez l’édition 2024   –   Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique 2024 : Un grand millésime

Menu

ES4 : Ogier, première !

Le tenant du titre a attendu le milieu de la matinée de vendredi pour signer son premier temps scratch du 92e Rallye Monte-Carlo : meilleur chrono pour Sébastien Ogier dans sa Toyota Yaris noire, dans le premier passage du jour entre Champcella et Saint-Clément (17.87 km), pour revenir à trois secondes seulement de Neuville, qui a perdu une poignée de secondes dans un tête-à-queue.

“Je pense que c’est difficile d’aller plus vite avec cette position de départ (la même que jeudi soir, basée sur le classement du championnat 2023), mais dans cette spéciale il y avait un peu moins de terre sur la route”, a réagi l’octuple champion du monde après le 693e temps scratch de sa carrière en WRC.

“Je ne comprends pas. J’ai perdu l’arrière tout d’un coup. J’ai été surpris”, a confié Neuville, qui a bien choisi le lieu de son tête-à-queue : un champ bien sec et bien plat dans lequel il n’a pas perdu trop de temps. Marche arrière, ça repart, 9 secondes de perdues seulement sur Ogier, alors que le Belge pouvait viser un deuxième temps scratch d’affilée.

Evans reste devant

Le leader du rallye est toujours Elfyn Evans (Toyota), passé en mode gestion. Il compte encore 18.8 secondes d’avance sur Neuville avant l’ES5, la dernière de cette première boucle, et 21.9 secondes sur Ogier. “Il y avait très peu de grip (adhérence) à certains endroits. Ce n’était pas facile, j’ai peut-être été trop prudent”, a avoué le Gallois.

Le parcours de cette ES4 était varié, globalement sec, et les nombreux spectateurs très disciplinés, bien protégés par les commissaires de l’ACM et des centaines de mètres de rubalise. Derrière Ogier et Evans, Ott Tänak (Hyundai) a repris confiance après sa petite erreur de l’ES3. Avec le 3e chrono, il est repassé au 4e rang du général, devant Adrien Fourmaux (M-Sport Ford), content de ses nouveaux réglages. Mais l’Estonien, champion du monde 2019, a trouvé que la route était « sale », ce qui l’a incité à rouler « propre ».

Dans le peloton de chasse, la bagarre a continué à faire rage entre les seconds rôles de cette pièce de théâtre à suspense : Takamoto Katsuta (Toyota), Andreas Mikkelsen (Hyundai) et Grégoire Munster (M-Sport Ford), regroupés en une dizaine de secondes à la fin de cette ES4 superbe de bout en bout.

Classement ES 4

Restaurant « Le Club »
La Billetterie
La Boutique Officielle
Visites Virtuelles
Inscription aux actualités de L’ACM
Suivez-nous