Upcoming Events

91th Rallye Monte-Carlo – from 16 to 22 January 2023 –  Discover the programme      -     25th Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique – from 24 January to 1st February 2023 –  Entry list      -     Official Store: Your gift ideas for Christmas

91th Rallye Monte-Carlo – from 16 to 22 January 2023 –  Discover the programme      -     25th Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique – from 24 January to 1st February 2023 –  Entry list      -     Official Store: Your gift ideas for Christmas

Menu
13e Grand Prix de Monaco Historique
13 - 15 May 2022
NFT
Archieves
Partenaires

Race C: Wakeman’s Cooper beats the Maseratis

It was the one and only race for Sports Cars of the type authorized to compete in the streets of the Principality in 1952, 70 years ago, a Monaco Grand Prix on Saturday (cars with more than 2 liters of displacement) or a Prix de Monte-Carlo on Sunday (less than 2 litres).

So it was a bit of a different race, with two-seaters with great lines, gleaming bodies wrapping their wheels. Some were in total slide mode when they arrived on Place du Casino, the noise of their engines was tremendous, the fight was fierce and the spectators were ecstatic. Eventually, a British driver won in the person of Frederic Wakeman, embarked in a 1955 Cooper Jaguar T38 Mk2. He started from pole position in this “Vittorio Marzotto” series and he managed to beat two Maserati 300S driven by Austria’s Lukas Halusa and Spain’s Guillermo Fierro-Eleta, who slightly rubbed the barrier in the closing laps. The leading quintet was completed by Niklas Halusa, Lukas’s brother, in a 1954 Jaguar D-Type, ahead of Germany’s Claudia Hürtgen, victorious of Race A2 in the morning. She had swapped her Ferrari Dino 246 for a Maserati 300S and again she did a superb job. Well done, Madam.

Restaurant « Le Club »
Official ticketing
Official store
Virtual tour
Subscribe to ACM news

Événements à venir :

6e E-Rallye Monte-Carlo : L’or pour Pastor / Gazzola      -     91e Rallye Monte-Carlo – du 16 au 22 janvier 2023 –  Découvrez le programme      -     25e Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique – du 24 janvier au 1er février 2023 –  Les inscriptions sont ouvertes

6e E-Rallye Monte-Carlo : L’or pour Pastor / Gazzola      -     91e Rallye Monte-Carlo – du 16 au 22 janvier 2023 –  Découvrez le programme      -     25e Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique – du 24 janvier au 1er février 2023 –  Les inscriptions sont ouvertes

Menu
13e Grand Prix de Monaco Historique
13 - 15 mai 2022
NFT
Archives
Partenaires

Course C: la Cooper de Wakeman bat les Maserati

C’était la course des Voitures de Sport, du type de celles qui avaient été autorisées à disputer en 1952 dans les rues de la Principauté, il y a donc 70 ans tout rond, un Grand Prix de Monaco le samedi (voitures de plus de 2 litres de cylindrée) ou un Prix de Monte-Carlo le dimanche (moins de 2 litres).

C’était donc une course un peu différente, avec des voitures biplaces dotées de superbes lignes, de carrosseries rutilantes enveloppant leurs roues. Certaines étaient en glisse totale à leur arrivée sur la place du Casino, le bruit de leurs moteurs était formidable, la bagarre a été acharnée et les spectateurs ont été gâtés. C’est finalement le Britannique Frederic Wakeman, dans une Cooper Jaguar T38 Mk2 de 1955, qui est parti en pole position de cette Série C « Vittorio Marzotto« , et c’est lui qui a gagné, non sans mal. Il a devancé, comme en qualifications samedi, deux Maserati 300S pilotées par l’Autrichien Lukas Halusa et l’Espagnol Guillermo Fierro-Eleta, qui a légèrement frotté le rail en fin de course. Le quintette de pointe a été complété par Niklas Halusa, le frère de Lukas, dans une Jaguar D-Type de 1954, devant l’Allemande Claudia Hürtgen, victorieuse le matin de la Course A2, qui avait troqué sa Ferrari Dino 246 pour une Maserati 300S. Honneur aux dames (bis).

Restaurant « Le Club »
La Billetterie
La Boutique Officielle
Visites Virtuelles
Inscription aux actualités de L’ACM